Saturday, June 21, 2008

Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh, originally known as North East Frontier Agency (NEFA), was administered by the Ministry of External Affairs till 1972, when it became a Union Territory with its current name. It became a full-fledged state in the year 1975. However, even now, it is known only by the name NEFA in some places like Tezpur. The state is situated on the foot of the Eastern Himalayas. Its capital Itanagar is located 500 kms away from Guwahati. The state is bounded by Assam, Bhutan, Tibet and Myanmar. During the Chinese war in 1962, the Chinese army had entered into this territory and had come upto Bhalukpong before they returned. The main religion in this state is Buddhism. The oldest Buddhist monastery, viz., Galden Namgyal Lhatse at Tawang is situated in this state. The entire state is mountainous and has beautiful natural scenery. With its colourful flora and fauna it is like a paradise on earth.

This state is far better than other parts of the world, because one can visit this place during any time of the year. Whereas some parts of this state are covered with snow during winter, they are covered with beautiful flowers and green vegetation during the other times.

To enter this state, one has to obtain Inner Line Permit from the non-resident Deputy Commissioner at Kolkata, Guwahati or at Tezpur.

No comments: